Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...
Judicial Elections

Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal Addresses S.C. Judiciary
at 2011 Annual Judicial Conference

On Thursday, August 18, 2011, Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal addressed members of South Carolina's Judiciary at the Annual Judicial Conference.

Justice Toal welcomed new Circuit Court Judges DeAndrea Benjamin, Stephanie McDonald and Letitia Verdin. She also welcomed new Family Court Judges Deborah Malphrus, Daniel Martin, Jr., Sally McIntyre, and Harry (Don) Phillips, Jr., and new Master-In-Equity Judges Anderson Griffith and Maite Murphy.

Justice Toal provided an update on the South Carolina economic crisis, state court funding, technology for the court system, guidelines for the use of social media, civil judgments, public access to court records, the Docket Management Task Force and the Newberry County Self-Help Center.

Justice Toal's update on technology for the South Carolina courts included an announcement that the Statewide Court Case Management System is now live in all 46 counties. She also provided information about several new systems which are currently being implemented. These new systems include the Master-in-Equity module for the Statewide Case Management System, a Family Court Case Management System, an Appellate Case Management System and an Attorney Information System.

Photo of Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal
Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal Addresses the
South Carolina Judiciary

Members of the South Carolina Judiciary
Welcome Chief Justice Toal

Justice Toal recognized the efforts of her technology management team - Joan Assey (IT Director), Scott Hayes (CMS Applications Manager), Judy Riser (Call Center Manager), Chris Haley (Network Lead), Winkie Clark (Webmaster and Internal Applications Manager) and John Starmack (Systems Integrator). Justice Toal outlined her plans to implement an E-Court system in the future which will include e-filing and the use of electronic signatures for judges.

Justice Toal, who was recently presented with the Sandra Day O'Connor Award for the Advancement of Civics Education, also provided information about a pilot program to implement iCivics in South Carolina Schools. Dr. Jane Brailsford, South Carolina's first iCivics Master Teacher Trainer, was introduced. South Carolina now serves as a model for other states wishing to pilot the iCivics program.


PowerPoint Presentation Slides
(PDF Version)